2017/18 Captains

This year we have three new captains at the club.

Tom Russ has taken over from Brendan Drew as the 1st XI captain. With senior guidance from Drew, as well as Simon Hill, it was seen as an ideal time to pass the baton on to Tom, who is following on from a 500 run and 30 wicket season in 2016/17. Tom has played 2nd XI cricket for Victoria, and hopefully can continue his development while leading the club.

Shane Mays is captaining the 2nd XI. He made his 1st XI debut in 2016/17 and has embraced the club wholeheartedly in his two seasons at the club thus far. He won the 2nd XI batting average last year, and has also taken over as the Treasurer of the club this year.

Captaining the 4th XI is Tom Donaldson who has been a popular addition to the club since coming over from New Zealand to work for the 2015 Cricket World Cup organising committee. He’s off to a ripping start to the year, with 88 and 104*, and hopefully a few others in the 4th XI can follow in his footsteps.

The one captain remaining from last year is Paddy McKenna. He started the season last year as the 3rd XI captain, before his batting form forced the selectors’ hands and he wound up playing in the 2nd XI for the majority of the season. Hopefully he can put similar pressure on selectors this season, but be outstripped by some of his teammates!

This leadership team, along with the elected player leadership group – featuring Dylan Hodge, Ben Rowles and Sam Newell – can hopefully set the standards, create an environment for success and enjoyment in the coming season!