The Camberwell Cricket Club was founded in 1864, with the patrons of the “Camberwell Inn” forming together to create a team, which competed in commercially sponsored competitions. It took a place in the Sub-Distrct competition in 1909/10 season after the implementation of a turf wicket, and had its first success after re-entering the competition after the war in 1920/21.

Camberwell was home to Laurie Nash, former Test cricketer and VFL footballer, and Lindsay Kline, who played Test cricket for Australia. The club started up a junior side which it entered into the Eastern Suburbs Cricket Association (now the Eastern Cricket Association) in 1963/64, which sees the 2013/14 season as the 50th anniversary of junior cricket at the club. By the final year of the Camberwell Cricket Club, it was fielding 11 junior teams.

Club legends included John Birch, Ken Munro, who held the games record with 400 games for the Camberwell Cricket Club, and Don Davenport. Current Camberwell Magpies Secretary Speros Beasley played 310 games as well as being a premiership player in 1985/86.

The club under the leadership of Peter Warner sought to take the club towards playing at a higher level, and brought about the merger with Collingwood Cricket Club. The team continued to enter sides in the Victorian Sub-District Cricket Association until 1997/98. Camberwell Cricket Club won 6 premierships in both the 1st and 2nd XI competitions in the VSDCA.

Find below a link to the document collated by Radcliffe Grace, the uncle of current 1st XI scorer and club statistician Anthony Grace, upon the 100 years of Camberwell Cricket Club.


Camberwell Cricket Club Team of the Century

Ken Munro (C)

Bill Goodenough

Graeme Kelaart

Cecil Walsh

Bob Williams

Jack Maguire

Don Davenport

John Birch

Graeme F. Moss

Jack Seelenmeyer

Neil Williams (12th man)

RSS External News